Imperfectly Perfect – Complex with Zion T. feat G-Dragon

Happy please-slow-down-2017 Monday!

 

I know a girl from an island

She stands apart from the crowd

She loves the sea and her people

She makes her whole family proud

Sometimes the world seems against you

The journey may leave a scar

But scars can heal and reveal just

Where you are

The people you love will change you

The things you have learned will guide you

And nothing on earth can silence

The quiet voice still inside you

And when that voice starts to whisper

“Moana, you’ve come so far”

Moana listen, do you know wh

o you are?

~ Grandma Tala

 

There are days when things could bring me down to a point where I question who I really am and what I am capable of. The excerpt from I am Moana/The Ancestor’s Song often splash some encouragements and positive reminders back to my senses. So I thought I would share it with you all.

 

Everyone has complexes of some sort of themselves. Duh, where did you think “nobody is perfect” came from? But sometimes. No. most of the time, we, humans, seems to be programmed to only focus on what we are lacking and what we are not. So instead of taking pride of what our life journey has shaped us into, we enjoy in our own self-pity and wishing we are someone else. Someone who we see better than ourselves. Someone who has all the things that we are lacking. Someone who we enjoy comparing our sore complexes with all of their strong traits and glories.

 

 

99 complexes but you can’t be me

If you’re making your complex a problem, then it becomes a problem

 

You are who you are because of the scars, love, lessons learnt, insecurities, achievements. All the things that made us….ourselves.

 

The journey may leave a scar

But scars can heal and reveal just

where you are

 

We cannot separate what’s good from bad. What we have and what we are lacking. All those +s and -s make us one imperfectly perfect person. No, I did not make a mistake or meant to say perfectly imperfect, because we all know it.  Imperfectly perfect – I meant to say we are a perfect version of ourselves. No one can be a better me than myself – that includes being imperfect as me. All these, make us whole. It is who we are.

 

Live like our own version of ourselves and walk in our own shoes. Why wish to be someone else or have what we can’t have? (unless they are things we can work on to grow and be better). If everyone have their own sets of complexes. Have you ever thought that someone might wish to be YOU. Yes! You! So let’s balance it out, and take time to appreciate our accomplishments as well.

 

We have come so far, should we not know who we are by now and take pride on both of all our imperfectness and strengths?

 

Lyrics + Translations

 

Complex – Zion.T feat G-Dragon

 

살이 좀 쪘으면 좋겠어 / it would be nice if I could gain a bit more weight

넌 내 마른 몸을 좋아하지만 / although you like my skinny figure

안아줄 때 같이 잘 때 / when I hug you, when we sleep together

너 팔베개 깔아줄 때  / when you use my arm as a pillow

너의 목 건강을 위해 / it’s for the health of your neck

 

내 키가 좀만 컸으면 좋겠어 / it would be nice if I were tad taller

네가 만나던 키 큰 애들보다 / compared to the tall kids you dated

그리고 손도 조금만 더 컸음 해 / I also wish for my hands to be a bit bigger

어 근데 그, 그건 더 / oh but, for that thing

안 커도 될 것 같아 / I don’t think it needs to be bigger

 

 

너무 빡세 하루하루 (하루하루) / It’s really hectic each day (day by day)

개인 정보 직업란: 가수 / personal information, occupation: singer

엄마 노래는 어떻게 해야 돼? / mom, how should I sing?

니네 안 살아봤으면 말을 말아 / If you have not loved it then don’t say anything

(왜 이리 일이 많아) / (why is there so much work)

 

전화 좀 그만했으면 좋겠어 / I wish they would stop calling

특히 너네 양화대교 지나갈 때 / especially when you guys are crossing the Yanghwa Bridge

그래그래 그 노래 좋아해 / yeah yeah you like the song

근데 그 다리가 뭔 상관인데 / but what does that bridge have anything to do with it?

 

Complex

My complex

My complex

I’m COMPLEX than

the magazine

I hate me more than

you hate me

I’m complex than

the magazine

 

내가 아이돌이었음 좋겠어 / I wish I was an idol

춤 잘 추고 잘생긴 놈 (dance) / a good dancer and good looking guy

사랑 노래만 쓰면 되니까 / caus I’d have to do is to write love songs

노래 못하면 벗으면 되니까 / If I couldn’t sing I just needed to take my shirts off

‘Yeah, oh yeah oh yeah

Oh yeah oh yeah

Oh yeah

사랑해 미치겠어 (handsome) / I love you I’m going crazy

oh yeah oh yeah’

이러면 되니까 / cause just that would do

 

해솔아 형은 콤플렉스가 없어 미안 / Hey Haesol, Hyung doesn’t have any complex, sorry

키작고 말라도 괜찮아 뭐 나니까 / though I’m short and skinny but that’s ok – cause that’s me

오히려 난 말이야 if i was zion.T / Rather, for me, if I was Zion.T

노래는 다 아는데 얼굴은 잘 모르니까 / they would know all of my songs but not my face

GD라하면 돈 FAME 여자 / If you say GD, it’s money fame and woman

그래 솔직히 다 셀 수 없어 / yea to be honest they’re all beyond counts

그렇다고 재수없어? / would it be annoying if I say that?

나처럼 살아봐 / then live like me

Think you can walk in my shoes?

Look at me now 내가

네 콤플렉스다 임마 / hey buddy I’m your complex now

 

99 complexes but you can’t be me

99 complexes but you can’t be me

콤플렉스 문제를 삼으면 문제가 돼 / If you’re making your complex a problem, then it becomes a problem

I got no complex yea that’s me

 

My complex

My complex

I’m COMPLEX than the magazine

I hate me more than you hate me

I’m complex than the magazine

 

My complex

My complex

I’m COMPLEX than the magazine

I hate me more than you hate me

I’m complex than the magazine

 

가끔 나 내가 아님 좋겠어 / Sometimes I wish I was not me

아무도 우리가 우리인지 모른다면 / Maybe if we don’t know who we were

남들처럼 손 잡고 걷는 상상해 / I would dream of walking while holding else like everyone else

햇살 좋은 공원에서 / at a sunny park

 

Zion.T-OO
Credit: The Black Label (YG)

 

 

 

Until next time!

 

Love,

Med

 

Leave a Reply

