Looking for that star with Heize

Rainy Monday is back!

Hi Everyone, how was your Winter? Reporting from Vancouver, although the rain have been making its appearances a lot lately, apparently the city is not over with its Snowmageddon yet.

One funny thing though, I have been finding clearer views of the stars at night. Maybe the after-math of snowmageddon days would be a much clearer night sky? If that’s the case, I’ll go against the odds and welcome more snow into the city s’il vous plait.

For someone who is really into star gazing and star constellations (nope, I am not a pro), I have been using star(s) as the theme of my creative writings from as early as I could remember (probably since grade 7 or 8). So it’s inevitable that I am attracted in other creative arts which resolve around the theme of <Star>.

 

 

 

 

 

I am also an avid fan of Korean rap/R&B/Soul/Hip-Hop, more than the infamous K-pop sibling. However, I don’t usually go for a female rappers for the reason that they might sound tougher in ways that don’t quite resonate with my likings. But Heize is different, and I grow to like her stuffs ever since I started discovering her music. Maybe it’s the melodic tunes that pick on the more feminine part of being a rapper, or the vocals she often throw in in the chorus. It’s just softer and nicer to listen to.

 

45777
Credit: CJ E&M

 

장다혜/Jang Da-Hye a.k.a Heize debuted as a singer/rapper in 2014. She performed and produced most of her music in the indie/underground scene. She is gained her major popularity from her participation in the music competition program: Unpretty Rapstar 2 in 2015. Her songs and collaborations with other rappers/musicians alike have been gaining a lot of love and likes. The song: Star is her non-album single released in December 2016.

 

Lyrics +Translations

 

별 – 헤이즈

That Star – Heize

 

 

혹시 저 별도 나를 보고 있을까 / is that star looking at me too by any chance?

아니 날 보고 있지 않을까  / I mean, maybe it’s looking at me

저 별도 나를 보고 있을까  / is that star is also looking at me?

아니 날 / or I mean…

 

 

지금 날 찾고 있진 않을까 / Maybe it is looking for me right now

아니 날 피해 가고 있을까  / Or no maybe it is avoiding me

아니 날 / or I mean …

 

 

오늘따라 넌 더 희미해 / today of all days you look even dimmer than usual

그래서 이 밤은 내겐 무의미해  / so this night might mean nothing to me

어두운 밤이 지나 아침이 온대도 / even after the dark night passes and the morning comes

구름에 가려 보이지 않을 때도  / even when the clouds appear, blocking the view

너 그 자리에 있단 걸 난 알아도 / even when I know that you are there at that place

 

 

넌 내가 보이지 않을 때마다 / whenever you can’t see me

항상 불안해했으니까 / you were always anxious

저 구름이 이제 비가 되어서  / for that cloud to become rain

내리기만을 나는 기도해  / for it to rain down, I pray

 

 

혹시 저 별도 나를 보고 있을까 / is that star looking at me too by any chance?

아니 날 보고 있지 않을까  / I mean, maybe it’s looking at me

저 별도 나를 보고 있을까  / is that star is also looking at me?

아니 날 / or I mean…

 

 

지금 날 찾고 있진 않을까 / Maybe it is looking for me right now

아니 날 피해 가고 있을까  / Or no maybe it is avoiding me

아니 날 / or maybe I …

 

 

 

너만큼 반짝이는 게 또 있을까 / would there be anything as shiny as you?

너무 멀어서 / you’re too far away

내 노래가 들리지 않을까 / so you can’t hear my song

내가 보고 있는 게 / the thing that I am looking at right now

지금의 너가 맞을까 / is it really you?

매일 밤 너를 보며 / while looking at you every night

두 손 모은 나를 봤을까 / did you see me gather my two hands

너도 나를 봤을까 / did you look at me too

아님 피해 갔을까 / or did you turn away

내 품에 떨어지길 기도해 / I pray that you will fall into my embrace

my shooting star

다시는 놓치지 않을 텐데 / I would not ever let go

my shining star

이 시간들은 그저 과정일 뿐이야 / this passing time is just a process

 

 

혹시 저 별도 나를 보고 있을까 / is that star looking at me too by any chance?

아니 날 보고 있지 않을까  / I mean, maybe it’s looking at me

저 별도 나를 보고 있을까  / is that star is also looking at me?

아니 날 / or I mean…

 

 

지금 날 찾고 있진 않을까 / Maybe it is looking for me right now

아니 날 피해 가고 있을까  / Or no maybe it is avoiding me

아니 날 / or maybe I …

 

 

내가 할 수 있는 건 그대 / the only thing I can do, dear

이 순간에도날 보고 있다고 믿는 것/ believing that right at this moment you are also looking at me

그래서 난 네가 떠난 이후로 / So I, after you have left me

스쳐간 흔적도 없지 그 누구도 / there was no brazing trace, there was no one

그런데 왜 넌 항상 보여도 / but why is even that I see you all the time

손 닿을 수도 안을 수도 없는 걸 / I can’t touch nor hug you

 

 

혹시 저 별도 나를 보고 있을까 / is that star looking at me too by any chance?

아니 날 보고 있지 않을까  / I mean, maybe it’s looking at me

저 별도 나를 보고 있을까  / is that star is also looking at me?

아니 날 / or I mean…

 

 

지금 날 찾고 있진 않을까 / Maybe it is looking for me right now

아니 날 피해 가고 있을까  / Or no maybe it is avoiding me

아니 날 / or maybe I …

 

 

This emotional lyric and analogy of someone looking at a star and imagining whether the star is looking back at her or avoiding her:

is it one sided love? Or is it reminiscing of a past lover that you can’t have back?

Depending on your emotional state of mind right now, it might mean one over the other. It’s all open for your own interpretation. That’s the beauty of using an analogy or a symbol in a song.

But, for “star”-gazers out there. Would it be easier to let go of a too far-fetched star, then agonizing if that star will ever look back at you, even worse to wish for a falling star to land in your embrace?

I know a friend who would build a rocket and fly to the outer space so the star would look back at him. But sadly sometimes, the star would rather stay where it is and gaze at the universe, rather than falling for him.

And for me, I would star gaze and fall into the agony until I gain my clear senses back, and move on.

Whatever it is…may all of you, even in the dark of night, will be able to see clearly be amazed by the shining stars, while believing that maybe something closer is available for you. That might be worth more of your effort to look and to fight for than to gaze at the unreachable star.

 

 

Until another starry night!

 

 

Love,

Med!

 

 

Leave a Reply

