Vacation ALAS x Departure by Kim Dong Ryul

Happy First Day of Vacation  X  I’m going to Korea!

 

Hello, fam 🙂 . I hope you all have been doing well in life while watching Korean dramas and filling your days with all Korean goodness. I am really excited for today for so many reasons. One of them is what I have mentioned right of the bat. Yes. Today is the first day of (short) vacation after a while. Why am I so excited about it?

  1. I have not had a proper vacation/me-time for more than 2 years. Mainly due to family reasons. As much as I did not mind it, I feel that a me-time/my-very-own-vacation is needed and it has been way long overdue. My body and mind are aching to have a time off.
  2. I have been getting busier with work. There are so many changes in that part of the pie in my life. Getting more responsibility = less time for me to just sit, reflect, and write.

With all that said, you can imagine how eager I was that I counted down to this very day. I need this. No. More than that, I deserve it.

9a2b76e232e724d14ee4edabc691f19f
Credit: Dodam Jeong – Pinterest

So, I thought what could be more rewarding than to reward myself for a trip to Korea. YAY! With the push from my best friend, I finally bought my tickets a couple of months ago.

After that, came the questions:

  • What kind of trip do I want?
  • What kind of tone will this trip be?
  • What do I want to do there?

Generic questions that turned out to be harder to answer as I have been to Korea for several times now. When I was throwing my ideas to my best friend (no, unfortunately she is not coming with me this time), this conversation came up (C = my very “nice” friend):

M: “This time, I’ll take it chill. It will not be an ambitious one… I will visit less places, spend the afternoon/night at a café writing my blog and all that chillaxing stuffs”

C: “You’re getting old, that’s why! You know, older people get tired faster”

M: “NO I’M NOT OLD” (and then I went to a corner sobbing my heart away because what she said was half true. Note: only HALF TRUE)

I have listed out the places I want to visit this time, the food I wanted to eat (sorry trainer-nim. No, I’m not actually sorry). Still, I do not know what kind of trip it will be. Nor do I know how I would share this trip with you.

I have had issues in the past: I lost my camera every single time I went there.Sigh. I know.

So I was thinking, snapchat? Instagram? Daily posts (what, how, when)? YouTube video? While I blindly pick one (ore more than one), I will say that this is going to be a healing trip for moi. So it will be personal (just as my other posts here, yeah why do I have to re-confirm lol). So I came up with some possible (cheesy but hopefully meaningful) hashtags for my 2016 Seoul (nope, not going anywhere else this time) trip:

  • #medseoulsearching
  • #edreamjinseoul
  • #edreamjSEOULsearching
  • #edreamjXseoul

Should I just use all of the above?

Well, whatever it is, I hope to be able to bring you along my journey/trip/vacation. So follow me on Instagram, snapchat, this blog for the updates!

Now off to buy some goodies for my friends I dearly miss there!

OH!

While I do that, let me set our my mood and entertain you with a song that befit the theme of this post and resonate with my sentiment of how a trip should be (should I just make this as a theme/OST song?)

 

 

 

Of course the lyrics come after 🙂

Lyrics + Translation

출발 – 김동률

Departure – Kim Dong-Ryul

 

아주 멀리까지 가 보고 싶어 / I want to go as far as possible
그곳에선 누구를 만날 수가 있을지 / I wonder who I would meet there
아주 높이까지 오르고 싶어 / I want climb as high as possible
얼마나 더 먼 곳을 바라볼 수 있을지 / I wonder how much farther could I see places from up there

 

작은 물병 하나, 먼지 낀 카메라, / one small water bottle, a dusty camera
때 묻은 지도 가방 안에 넣고서 / an old map, I put them in my bag

 

언덕을 넘어 숲길을 헤치고 / over the hills and wade through the forest
가벼운 발걸음 닿는 대로 / just the way my light steps lead me
끝없이 이어진 길을 천천히 걸어가네 / to the endless road as I go on my sweet time

 

멍하니 앉아서 쉬기도 하고 / I space out as I sit down and take a rest
가끔 길을 잃어도 서두르지 않는 법  / even if I lost my way, do not need to hurry
언젠가는 나도 알게 되겠지 / because someday I would also find out
이 길이 곧 나에게 가르쳐 줄 테니까 / what this path is going to teach me soon

 

촉촉한 땅바닥, 앞서 간 발자국, / moist ground, printed footsteps,
처음 보는 하늘, 그래도 낯익은 길 / sky I’ve never seen before, but a familiar road

 

언덕을 넘어 숲길을 헤치고 / over the hills and wade through the forest
가벼운 발걸음 닿는 대로 / just the way my light steps lead me
끝없이 이어진 길을 천천히 걸어가네 / to the endless road as I go on my sweet time

 

새로운 풍경에 가슴이 뛰고 / my heart beats fast at the sight of a new scenery
별것 아닌 일에도 호들갑을 떨면서 / getting excited even if it’s nothing special
나는 걸어가네 휘파람 불며 / I whistle as I walk
때로는 넘어져도 내 길을 걸어가네 / Even though I fall sometimes, I keep going on my way

 

작은 물병 하나, 먼지 낀 카메라, / one small water bottle, a dusty camera
때 묻은 지도 가방 안에 넣고서 / an old map, I put them in my bag

 

언덕을 넘어 숲길을 헤치고 / over the hills and wade through the forest
가벼운 발걸음 닿는 대로 / just the way my light steps lead me
끝없이 이어진 길을 천천히 걸어가네 / to the endless road as I go on my sweet time

 

내가 자라고 정든 이 거리를 / These streets where I grew up, and became dear to me
난 가끔 그리워하겠지만 / I will miss it from time to time, but
이렇게 나는 떠나네, 더 넓은 세상으로 / like this I depart into a bigger world

 

pps: this song is taken from Kim Dong-Ryul’s 5th album: Monologue, released in 2008

168951_1_f.jpg
Credit: Kim Dong-Ryul

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

