Let What Have Passed be The Past – Don’t Worry Dear

Happy Hump Day!

I originally prepared this for Monday. But somehow, I decided not to post it. Maybe it was too personal and the introvert side of my extrovert-introvert combination yelled NO. Loud and clear.

 

But yesterday, I heard a very bad news that happened to someone I know from someone else.

Well, you see.. I don’t know this person personally. But he was kind enough to share his story with me to inject some encouragement to do something   He also offered me his help. *convinced me that I’m not alone and that they understand*.

So when I heard the news, and knowing the pain as I have been in that position before, I can’t help but to feel a share of sadness for him. It might not be the same story. But it’s like the books you’ll find in the same rack of a library. So I wish I could offer him some sort of consolation.

While prayer might be the only thing I can do for now, I also could not ignore the urge to post this song. Because I found strength from this song. And I hope, that person or anyone reading this can also be inspired by it.

 

This song is a solemn Folk-Rock song by 전인권/Jeon In-Gwon which was originally introduced in 2004. Recently the song was popularized by one of Korea’s most prominent singer-songwriter: 이적/Lee-Juck, as a part of the Original Sound Track of a popular K-Drama: 응답하라 1988/Reply 1988.

 

I initially did not like the song and tended to avoid listening to it. I thought it was too sad. But as I peeled that layer off, I found that this song can actually bring consolation, encouragement, and strength.

 

Lyrics + Translation

걱정말아요 그대 – 전인권
Don’t Worry, Dear – Jeon In-Gwon

 

그대여 아무 걱정 하지 말아요 / Dear, don’t worry about anything
우리 함께 노래 합시다 / Let’s sing a song together
그대 아픈 기억들 모두 그대여 / All of your painful memory deep in your heart, dear
그대 가슴 깊이 뭍어 버리고 / Bury them in the depth of your heart

 

지나간 것은 지나간 대로 / Let what have passed be the past
그런 의미가 있죠 / there’s a profound meaning to it
떠난이에게 노래 하세요 / Sing to those who have left/passed
후회없이 사랑했노라 말해요 / Tell them that you have loved with no regrets

 

그댄 너무 힘든 일이 많았죠 / You must have gone through so many difficult things, dear
새로움을 잃어 버렸죠 / You might have lost the novelty of life
그대 힘든 얘기들 모두 그대여 / all of story of your hardships, dear
그대 탓으로 훌훌 털어 버리고 / brush them all off

 

지나간 것은 지나간 대로 / Let what have passed be the past
그런 의미가 있죠 / there’s a profound meaning to it
우리 다함께 노래 합시다 / Let’s sing all together
후회없이 꿈을 꾸었다 말해요 / Say that we dreamed without any regrets

 

지나간 것은 지나간 대로 / Let what have passed be the past
그런 의미가 있죠 / there’s a profound meaning to it
우리 다함께 노래 합시다 / Let’s sing all together
후회없이 꿈을 꾸었다 말해요 / That we dreamed without any regrets
우리 다함께 노래 합시다 / Let’s sing all together
새로운 꿈을 꾸겠다 말해요/ That we got to dream a new dream

 

2015110814452016131-540x540
Credit: tvN

 

Yesterday, I received a text which I would not expect anyone to see me by the adjective the sender describe me as:

“[…] I can’t imagine how u overcame ur […]. U r so brave”

Brave is not necessarily the word I would come with to define myself. Maybe when I was in high-school. But not now, not the present me. Live happens. And this past year or two, it seems like live decided to get the better of me and it feels like I’m just (poorly) trying not to let everything from crumbling down.

But as I listened to this song. I found maybe the reason why I could only see how things are bringing me down was because I was stuck in the past. I was busy looking back. I longed for my old self. The old situation. I desperately wished togain back what I have lost forever.

 

지나간 것은 지나간 대로 / Let what have passed be the past
그런 의미가 있죠 / there’s a profound meaning to it

 

Oh dear. Life does not go that way, does it? I felt like God is trying to remind me *once again* to live in the present. I might not be able to go back to the old version of myself *I might no longer be leaning more towards my extrovert talkative super social side, and be more comfy with the pondering kind of self, etc* . But instead, I have to believe everything that has happened has shaped me to be the better version of the old one. That I gained more than what I have lost. And that I should learn to love this version live up to the best version that God has shaped me into. No regrets.

 

후회없이 사랑했노라 말해요 / Tell them that you have loved with no regrets
후회없이 꿈을 꾸었다 말해요 / That we dreamed without any regrets
새로운 꿈을 꾸겠다 말해요/ That we got to dream a new dream

 

When you lost something you can’t replace, a storm of dark emotions might take over most of your heart. Regrets, feeling sorry, longing to love/do more, just missing the presence to name a few. I felt that a part of my dream was taken away from me. And nothing will ever be the same. While it’s true, I failed to see other opportunities of new dreams. I was bound to the hopelessness of that loss.

 

It felt that to move on meant to forget. And that is the last thing I want to do. But apparently, each human are given the ability to heal and to have enough courage to keep on going.

 

It may take the others’ point of view to see what you have gained, or to recognize your positive things – while you are blinded by, if not caught in, the storm of hardships.

 

b0053690_19162858

Credit: 전인권컴퍼니

 

And for that, I am here to extend my heartfelt encouragement to all of you reading this. From one life fighter to another.

 

Let’s take only the good memories and turn them into our strength to move forward. Make your past self (or whatever of your past) be proud that we get to take only the good meaning of our past to face our new reality with new dreams, and strength.

 

While I know too well that it is easier said than done, at least, let’s try together. Let’s be brave.

 

 

 

AH! Now I really have to buy a venti green tea latte for the messenger of le news. Dang it.

 

 

 

I will be praying for you.

Love,
Med

One thought on “Let What Have Passed be The Past – Don’t Worry Dear

Leave a Reply

