Room to breathe – Sigh by Lee HI

Happy Queen’s Day Monday!

I was gonna post this tomorrow. But le busy day will not let me remember it. So, let’s do this before the day ends.

Credit: YG Entertainment

I feel like, lately, I have been pushing people away from me. For whatever various reasons I have. Without intending to kick them away for good (although some might think/thought so). But the thing is. I just need some room for me to breathe.
 
That’s it. Nothing else.
 
If I cannot take care of myself and well being, how do I “do” that thing called sincerely living (or taking whatever parts I need to take on while interacting with other people, fam, or friends).
 
I’m just trying my best to keeping it all together. I might have slower pace than others, or limited ability to voice it out in details right away. And sometimes, or at this very moment, I need some space for me to breathe and to regroup with myself.
 
Oh how I wish people (those who *seems* to be pushed away at the moment) can understand that this is temporary. And not that I hate them.
 
This is why I pick this song and put it on repeat. This song gives consolation to that aching need to “breathe/sigh/take a long and deep breath/rest”
 
 

Lyrics + Translation

 

한숨 – 이하이

Sigh (official English title: Breathe) – Lee HI

 

숨을 크게 쉬어봐요 / take a big breath

당신의 가슴 양쪽이 저리게 / until both sides of your chest get numb

조금은 아파올 때까지 / until it get hurts a little

숨을 더 뱉어봐요 / exhale more of your breath

당신의 안에 남은 게 없다고 느껴질 때까지 / until you feel like there is nothing is left inside of you

 

숨이 벅차올라도 괜찮아요 / even if it’s hard for you to breathe, it’s ok

아무도 그댈 탓하진 않아 / no one is blaming you for that

가끔은 실수해도 돼 / it’s ok to make mistakes from time to time

누구든 그랬으니까 / because everyone else is like that too

괜찮다는 말 / even though the words “it’s ok”

말뿐인 위로지만 / might only be words of consolation

 

누군가의 한숨 / someone’s sigh

그 무거운 숨을 / a breath as heavy as that

내가 어떻게 헤아릴 수가 있을까요 / how am I able to fathom that

당신의 한숨 / your sigh

그 깊일 이해할 순 없겠지만 / I might not be able to understand the depth of it, but

괜찮아요 / that’s ok

내가 안아줄게요 / I will embrace you

 

숨이 벅차올라도 괜찮아요 / even if it’s hard for you to breathe, it’s ok

아무도 그댈 탓하진 않아 / no one is blaming you for that

가끔은 실수해도 돼 / it’s ok to make mistakes from time to time

누구든 그랬으니까 / because everyone else is like that too

괜찮다는 말 / even though the words “it’s ok”

말뿐인 위로지만 / might only be words of consolation

 

누군가의 한숨 / someone’s sigh

그 무거운 숨을 / a breath as heavy as that

내가 어떻게 헤아릴 수가 있을까요 / how am I able to fathom that

당신의 한숨 / your sigh

그 깊일 이해할 순 없겠지만 / I might not be able to understand the depth of it, but

괜찮아요 / that’s ok

내가 안아줄게요 / I will embrace you

 

남들 눈엔 힘 빠지는 한숨으로 보일진 몰라도 / even though your weak sigh might not be visible on others’ eyes

나는 알고 있죠 / but I know

작은 한숨 내뱉기도 어려운 하루를 보냈단 걸 / that letting out a small sigh means that you spent a really difficult day

 

이제 다른 생각은 마요 / now don’t think of anything else

깊이 숨을 쉬어봐요 / take a deep breath

그대로 내뱉어요 / exhale just like that

 

누군가의 한숨 / someone’s sigh

그 무거운 숨을 / a breath as heavy as that

내가 어떻게 헤아릴 수가 있을까요 / how am I able to fathom that

당신의 한숨 / your sigh

그 깊일 이해할 순 없겠지만 / I might not be able to understand the depth of it, but

괜찮아요 / that’s ok

내가 안아줄게요 / I will embrace you

 

정말 수고했어요 / you really have done well

 

Well, at least I have spent a day trying to catch my breath. Now, regroup with les dears self-brain-heart!
 
Bear with me. I’ll get there. Just give me some time and space. I, myself, don’t want to be a porcupine.
 
And for all of you, if you need to let out a sigh or two, go ahead and
breathe. Let’s do this one step at a time.
 
Just never. Ever. Give up.

 

 

Love,

Med

Leave a Reply

