Unwinding in the rain – Taeyeon

Hey the start of a new week!
 
It’s so sunny and nice outside. So many people will curse me for this. But I am missing the rain. I do hope it was raining, maybe later on today after work-ish.
 
2016. April. The year has been running full speed and I need to catch on my breath. Especially, this past month/few weeks. I have not had any of my “me time”, or “unwind time”, or “thinking/finding inspiration time (a.k.a semedi in Indonesian), or “chillaxing and do nothing time”. For me, rain = the perfect weather to do all of the above. Thus, I need the rain. One rainy day. Plus my pen and notebook, blankie, good music, and a cup of warm tea bubble tea. Yes I need bubble tea.
 
I’ve been loving 태연/Tae Yeon’s singles lately. Especially <Rain>. I think, it describes the vibe of a rainy day in a way you can feel it through its tunes. Somehow. It’s a tad lazy, breezy, not too mellow, and somewhat relaxing. The lyrics itself bring out one of the longing of something feel that often rain brings you.
 

 
I guess, instead of the real rain, I would have have to stick with this song to sneak in those trying-to-unwind times into my busy day(s) for now. 
 

Lyrics + Translation

 


Rain – 태연/Tae Yeon


 

텅 빈 회색 빛 거린 참 허전해 / The greyish hollow streets seems so empty

쓸쓸한 기분에 유리창을 열어 / at the feeling of solitary, I open the glass window

내민 두 손위로 떨어진 빗방울 / the falling raindrops on my two hands that are sticking out

가득 고이는 그리움 나의 맘에 흘러 / wells up longing that is flowing in my heart

 

왠지 네가 보고픈 밤 / For some reason I am missing you tonight

차오르는 눈물 / tears rising up

떠오르는 나의 맘 속 / floating inside my heart

 

비가 오면 내리는 기억에 번지는 아픔에 / when it rains, memories fall down with numerous pain

흠뻑 쏟아지는 너를 보다 / pouring out as I look at you

선명했던 그 시간에 멈춘 채 추억에 젖은 채 / I left myself halted at the time that was so vivid, left drenched in the memories

아름다웠던 너를 그려 in the Rain / drawing you, who used to be beautiful, in the rain

 

길었던 참 눈이 부셨던 계절도 / the long and dazzling season

사진첩 속에 얼룩져 색이 바래질까 / would it also fade as the stain in the photo album

 

점점 깊어가는 이 밤 / the night that grows deeper

잊지 못한 약속 / the unforgettable promise

따뜻했던 품도 안녕 / as well as the warm embrace, goodbye

 

비가 오면 내리는 기억에 번지는 아픔에 / when it rains, memories fall down with numerous pain

흠뻑 쏟아지는 너를 보다 / pouring out as I look at you

선명했던 그 시간에 멈춘 채 추억에 젖은 채 / I left myself halted at the time that was so vivid, left drenched in the memories

아름다웠던 너를 그려 in the Rain / drawing you, who used to be beautiful, in the rain

 

흑백뿐인 세상 속 한줄기의 빛이 돼준 너 / you, someone who was the ray that gave light to the nothing but black and white world

(Rain) 비가 되어 다가와 내 영혼을 환히 밝혀줘 / be the rain and come to me and brighten up the view of my soul

 

Doo-doo-doo- 

우산 아래 나직했던 속삭임 Woo- / the soft whisper under the umbrella

가슴 한 켠에 퍼져 네가 들려 / I can hear you as it spreads through the corners of my heart

오늘 하루 내 안부를 묻듯이 편안한 빗소리 / the peaceful sound of the rain asking me bow my day was

아련히 물든 기억 너란 빗속에 / the memory that is faintly pigmented as you in the midst of rain

 

Woo rain, Woo… Dreaming in the Rain

 
 
 

Credit: SM Entertainment
 
 
Then comes my question. What kind of of weather is the perfect unwinding mood for you?

Or

What came to your mind when it’s raining?
 
 
 

Until that chillaxing rainy day!
 
 
 
 

Love,

Med

Leave a Reply

