Stars, Wind, Dream, And I – Rooftop House

Hello chilly Raincouver style Spring!  Happy hump day!

Last week was so so busy and it was then followed with this week. This week is also nothing but busy *I usually sneak in 15 minutes power nap during my afternoon break, just to keep me sane*. But I could not be happier that today is Wednesday, which means it is only one more working day before the Easter long weekend. Truly a whimsical Wednesday for me *I need my beauty sleep*

There are a number of #onrepeat songs that have been helping me go through all the madness at work. Well, executing the “calm those nerves down” at the same time with “let’s stay awake” and “more work to come” is surely not an easy task.

But on this rainy Wednesday, a calming folk/indie *and almost sounds like oldie* song 옥탑방/rooftop house by 장미여관/Rose Motel just seem to be enough.

 

 

Lyrics + Translation

 

옥탑방장미여관

Rooftop House – Rose Motel

 

하늘엔 별이 참 많이 있구요 / there are surely a lot of stars in the sky

난 그 별에서 제일 가깝게 살구요 / and I surely live the closest to the stars

햇살이 좋아 빨래도 잘 말라 / I like the sunshine and how fast the laundry dries up

그 곳에서 난 꿈꾸네 / at that place I dream my dream

 

기타를 메고 서울에 올라와 / carrying my guitar, I went up to Seoul

6년만에 처음 얻은 집이랍니다 / it’s the house I earned in just 6 years

평상에 누워 나 하늘을 보면 / if I lie down on the wooden bench and stare at the sky

누구도 부럽지 않죠 / I don’t need to envy anyone

 

그러나 서른 넘어 옥탑방 / but living in a rooftop house for someone who is over 30

한심해 보는 사람들도 있지 / there are people who see it as shabby

그래도 나는 나는 괜찮아 / Even so I, I’m fine with it

오늘도 평상에 누워 꿈꾸니 / I lie down on the bench wood and dream again today

 

별 바람 꿈 나~ 별 바람 꿈 나 / star, wind, dream, and I ~ star, wind, dream, and I

별 바람 꿈 나~ 별 바람 꿈 나 / star, wind, dream, and I ~ star, wind, dream, and I

 

그러나 서른 넘어 옥탑방 / but living in a rooftop house for someone who is over 30

한심해 보는 사람들도 있지 / there are people who see it as pathetic

그래도 나는 나는 괜찮아 / Even so I, I’m fine with it

오늘도 평상에 누워 꿈꾸니 / I lie down on the bench wood and dream again today

 

별 바람 꿈 나~ 별 바람 꿈 나 / star, wind, dream, and I ~ star, wind, dream, and I

별 바람 꿈 나~ 별 바람 꿈 나 / star, wind, dream ,and I ~ star, wind, dream, and I

별 바람 꿈 나~ 별 바람 꿈 나 / star, wind, dream, and I ~ star, wind, dream, and I

별 바람 꿈 나~ 별 바람 꿈 나 / the star, wind, dream, and I ~ star, wind, dream, and I

 

세상에 제일 행복한 사람의 / if to the happiest person in this world

기준이 없다면 난 제일 행복해 / there’s no high standard, then I am the happiest (person)

하늘에 제일 가까이 있는 곳 / the closest place to the sky

옥탑방에서 삽니다 / I live in a rooftop house

월세 천에 사십이죠 / the monthly rent in thousand is 40

우리집에 놀러와요 음음~ / come and visit my house hmm hmm~

난 매일 꿈을 꿉니다 / I dream a dream everyday

 

Simple and honest. Just the way I like it for me to name a song, a great one. Not a lot of *foreigner* audiences might recognize this Indie band called Rose Motel. But if you do *from various reality shows*, you might know that the lead vocal: Kang Jun-Woo lives (or used to) in a rooftop house. So this song is a tell-as-is song. This is as real (and honest) as you can get.

The simplicity of the lyrics and melodies is so dreamy. For something/living that could have come off as shabby, this song offers you a soft but subtle objection.

 

장미여관_-_옥탑방

 

OK, I can breathe a little bit now.

Star gazing is one of my favourite things to do for the so called stress relieving. I can’t do that with all this rain. As jealous as I am right now with Kang Jun-Woo and with anyone under a clear night sky tonight, I’ll be satisfied with this song. For now.

 

29773-rosemotel-i06w

If there’s no high standard to the happiest man on earth, then, I am the happiest + there’s no one else I need to envy.

 

 

 

Until the next one!

Love,

Med

 

3 thoughts on “Stars, Wind, Dream, And I – Rooftop House

Leave a Reply

