To where the wind blows – Kim Kwang Seok

Happy Lunar New Year and Family Day!
 
May your Lunar new year celebration be filled with a lot of good food and good times with your fam and friends. And may the year of monkey means nothing but a start of a prosperous and healthy year!
 
I’m super jealous of my friends and fam who posted their family gathering and the sincia *a.k.a imlek a.k.a lunar new year* feast. Away from family during such a holiday always feel like a bummer, but my roommate unnie and I decided to have our own celebration by making Jeon/Korean Pancake. Later on tonight, I’m planning to make 떡국/Rice Cake Soup for dinner.
 
Today is too sunny to just sit around and be gloomed by the fact that I’m away from the family gathering madness on this day. So I might just take a stroll in the nice weather and listen to this song that will make me feel like I was on a trip to somewhere real nice (or home).
 

 

Lyrics + Translation

바람이 불어오는 곳 – 김광석

The Place Where The Wind Blows – Kim Kwang Seok

바람이 불어오는 곳 그 곳으로 가네 / The place where the wind blows, to that place I go

그대의 머리결같은 나무아래로 / to underneath the tree that looks like your hair

덜컹이는 기차에 기대어 너에게 편지를 쓴다 / while leaning in the rattling train, I write a letter to you

꿈에 보았던 그 길 그 길에 서있네 / the path that I saw in my dream, I am standing on that path

설레임과 두려움으로 불안한 행복이지만 / although it’s an uneasy happiness with both fluttering feeling and fear

우리가 느끼며 바라볼 하늘과 사람들 / it’s the sky and the people that we can feel and hope for.

힘겨운 날들도 있지만 새로운 꿈들을 위해 / there will be tough days, but they all for our new dreams

바람이 불어 오는 곳 그 곳으로 가네 / the place where the wind blows, to that place I go

햇살이 눈부신 곳 그 곳으로 가네 / the place where the sunshine is dazzling, to that place I go

바람에 내 몸맡기고 그 곳으로 가네 / where the wind take me to, to that place I go

출렁이는 파도에 흔들려도 수평선을 바라보며 / even if I’m shaken by the rocking waves, I’ll be looking at the horizon

햇살이 웃고 있는 곳 그 곳으로 가네 / where the sunshine is smiling, to that place I go

나뭇잎이 손짓하는 곳 그 곳으로 가네 / where the tree leaves beckon me, to that place I go

휘파람 불며 걷다가 너를 생각해 / as I whistle while I walk, I come to think of you

너의 목소리가 그리워도 뒤돌아 볼 수는 없지 / even if I long for your voice I shouldn’t look back

바람이 불어 오는 곳 그 곳으로 가네 / where the wind blows, to that place I go

 
image

 
image
 

This song by the late Kim Kwang Seok may carry a deep (very social and political) meaning. But the tunes and its poetic lyrics transcended over generations and that very meaning and enjoyable melodies and peaceful feelings are proven to be open ended, making this song enjoyable to anyone listening to the song.
 
image

 
I hope, wherever the wind blows and leading you to, you’ll have that peaceful and enjoyable feelings enough for your whole journey.
 
bonus: J Rabbit Cover
 

Leave a Reply

