The beautiful Friendzoned Song – Jung Seung Hwan

Happy Monday – day 1 out of 29 of month # deux (this is the month that make 366 days of this year).

I have been a little bit m.i.a from the world wide web due to a series (both fortunate and unfortunate) events. But since this February is a very special month that we will not get for another 4 years, it only feels right to not miss today’s chance to fill your 32/366 with a good song.

 

I can’t believe that it’s the first day of February already. In the hope that the year will slow down a little bit, I indulge myself in slower *and mellower* songs. I have been listening to Arirang Radio at work quite a lot lately, and every time they played this particular songs I would feel that it sounds so familiar *to a point that I could sing along the refrain part), but yet I could not remember why or how could it sound familiar. Even when the host mentioned the title of it, it still did not ring a bell until I look the lyrics up to write this post.

 

Lyrics + Translations

 

너를 사랑한 시간 – 정승환

The Time I Loved You – Jung Seung-Hwan

 

넌 아이처럼 웃었고 / you laughed like a child

내게 기대 울었고 그 사람을 말하고 / you leaned on me crying and talked about that person

난 너를 반가워하고 / I am happy to see you and

내 어깰 빌려주고 너의 그림자가 되고 / I will lend my shoulder and I will become your shadow

너는 내가 참 편한가 봐 /  You seems to be so comfortable with me

아무렇지 않나 봐 하긴 우린 오랜… / It seems to be indifferent but then we are long time …

 

친구 우릴 묶어주는 말 / friends, the word that binds us together

너에겐 참 쉬운 말 내겐 참 슬픈 말 / to you it’s a very easy word, for me it’s such a sad word

내가 다가설 수 있는 늘 그 자리 / the place where I could always draw closer

늘 너의 뒤에서 널 기다리잖아 / I have always been waiting behind you

 

바로 옆에 내가 서 있는데 / I am standing right beside you

넌 언제나 먼 곳만 쳐다봐 / But it seems that you have only been looking to somewhere far away for the whole time

한발 다가서면 더 멀어질까 봐 / If I take one step closer, it might get farther away

나 너를 사랑한 시간 모두 / all the times that I loved you,

지워질까 두려워 / I am afraid that everything might get erased

 

친구 우릴 묶어주는 말 / friends, the word that bind us together

너에겐 참 쉬운 말 내겐 참 슬픈 말 / to you it’s a very easy word, for me it’s such a sad word

내가 다가설 수 있는 늘 그 자리 / the place where I could always draw closer

늘 너의 뒤에서 널 기다리잖아 / I have always been waiting behind you

 

바로 옆에 내가 서 있는데 / I am standing right beside you

넌 언제나 먼 곳만 쳐다봐 / But it seems that you have only been looking to somewhere far away for the whole time

늘 가슴 어딘가 맴돌기만 했던 / the words that have always been buzzing around somewhere in my heart

그 오랜 시간을 간직해왔던 말 / the words that have been held for a long time

널 사랑해 / I love you

 

한발 다가서면 널 놓칠 것 같아 / If I take one step closer, it feels like I will lose you

친구라는 말로 지켜왔던 시간 / the times that we protected with the word “friend”

 

널 사랑해 수없이 연습했던 날 / the day I numerously rehearsed “I love you”

넌 언제나 내겐 봄날 같은 사람 / you have always been a person who is like a day in the spring to me

세상 누구보다 난 널 잘 알잖아 / I know you better than anyone else in this world

나 너를 사랑한 시간 이젠… / the times that I loved you, now

너에게 다 주려 해 / I will give it all to you

 

Ahh.. That’s right. It’s from the drama with the same title *how smart*. If you haven’t watched the drama, this song basically sums up the story line.
Jung-Seung-Hwan-The-Time-We-Were-Not-In-Love-OST-Part-3
I can’t believe that behind the clear and beautiful voice is 19-years-old Jung Seung-Hwan – the runner up of K-Pop Star Season 4. Ahh.. those longing, pain, and hope his voice brings. Maybe 19 years old is a really good age for encountering the pain (one-sided) love.

maxresdefault

 

With Lunar New Year and Valentine’s Day approaching soon, I hope everyone will have a good season/month/time of loving someone.
And February, I hope you could slow down a little bit.

 

Until then,

 

Med

 

Leave a Reply

