Don’t Lose Weight – Soran

Happy the day after (boxing) Monday!

 

Merry Christmas *according to tradition, it is still Christmas*. Since Christmas fell on a friday this year, I did not post anything so you could chill and be merry. And last Monday was a statutory holiday, replacing boxing day that fell on a weekend. So that’s why, even if it’s Tuesday today, it still feels like Monday.

 

I hope you are enjoying patches or weeks or a whole month *even* long of holidays for Hanukkah, Christmas, New Year, or whatever Holidays celebration you celebrate. One thing in common tho, there must be lots of food and guilty pleasures that you  can *and will or did* indulge yourself with *ehem* almost everyday. And when the clock hits 00:00 Jan 1st, 2016 we will regret all of our *wrong* doings and restart our new-year-new-me resolution. I even already had this conversation with one of my colleague in the lunchroom today. She said, it’s time for her to eat healthy(-eir) food after all the junks she had during the Christmas break.

 

But with this song, it begs the differ.

 

 

This band has 4 members: Go Young-bae (lead vocalist), Seo Myun-ho (bass), Pyeon Yoo-il (drums) and Lee Tae-wook (guitars), and said to dedicate their songs to feel-good lyrics with soft-pop but less acoustic, relaxing tunes but not in a mellow kinda feel.

 

리코타치즈-450x300.jpg
Credit: 소란

 

You’ll find this song among others Soran’s masterpieces in their first album: Natural (2012). Do you feel good after you listen to it?

 

Lyrics + Translation

 

살빼지 마요 – 소란

Don’t Lose Weight – Soran

 

오늘은 그냥 잘 수 없어 이 밤은 / Today I cannot just go to sleep tonight

이렇게 비까지 오는데 어떻게 / Besides it’s raining, what do I do

 

안 돼 지금 먹으면 지금껏 쌓은 모든 것들이 / I can’t If I eat now, all the things that have been built so far

한순간에 물거품이 돼 / Will become nothing in an instance

 

두 볼에 토실토실 살이 차올라도 난 먹고 잘 거야 / Even if fat is filling up, plumping those two cheeks, I will eat and then I’m going to sleep

엄마랑 동생이 날 말린다 해도 내일 생각할 거야 / Even if my mom and younger sibling try to stop me, I’m going to think about it tomorrow

전화길 들고 고민할 거야 / I’m going to hold onto my phone and worry about it

지난번 마지막으로 먹었던 게 / The last thing I had last time

양념이였는지 후라이드였는지 /  Was it or was it spicy or was it fried (chicken)

 

살 빼지 마요 그대 / don’t lose weight, oh you

 

오늘은 그냥 잘 수 없어 이 밤은 / today I cannot just go to sleep tonight

이렇게 비까지 오는데 어떻게 / besides it’s raining, what do I do

 

안 돼 계속 그렇게 참으면 내 맘이 아프잖아 / no I can’t. if I continue to suppress it like that, it will only hurt my heart

오늘 밤엔 다 잊어줘요 / let’s forget about it all tonight

 

두 볼에 토실토실 살이 좀 있는 모습이 더 귀여워 / Those two chubby cheeks are looking cuter

엄마랑 동생이 널 말린다 해도 신경 쓰지 말아요 / Even if your mom and younger sibling try to stop you, never mind them

정말 그냥 하는 말이 아니야 / really, it’s not only a figure of speech (empty words)

도대체 나는 하나도 모르겠어 / I don’t know anything at all

내 눈엔 지금 너무 완벽한데 / it’s (already) so perfect now in my eyes

 

살빼지 마요 그대로 있어줘요 / don’t lose weight, just stay as it is (as you are now)

살빼지 마요 / don’t lose weight

 

두 볼에 토실토실 살이 좀 있는 모습이 더 귀여워 / Those two chubby cheeks are looking cuter

엄마랑 동생이 널 말린다 해도 신경 쓰지 말아요 / Even if your mom and younger sibling try to stop you, never mind them

정말 그냥 하는 말이 아니야 / really, it’s not only a figure of speech (empty words)

도대체 나는 하나도 모르겠어 / I don’t know anything at all

내 눈엔 지금 너무 완벽한 너 / you who is so perfect in my eyes

살빼지 마요 그대로 있어줘요 / don’t lose weight, just stay as it is

살빼지 마요 그대로 있어줘요 / don’t lose weight, just stay as it is

 

0010010002252
Credit: 소란

 

The struggle is real.

 

I like the witty lyrics, yet it’s not discouraging anyone in any way. Especially in the KPop world where S line = goddess, this song is a *healthy* breath of fresh air. I’d like to take a popular slogan in BC (British Columbia): “Know your limits, play within it”. I think it should be the same with weight, diet, and health. Know your limits and you own conditions and work within it. And do it for yourself, not to be in anyway “acceptable”.

 

So good luck with your Holidays extra weight *let’s hope it will melt down along with winter*, controlling ourselves from the rest of the Holidays’ yummy temptations, and with making healthier new year’s resolutions *rather than just “losing weight”*.

 

1157410ca11e571c647d57e7879dee76
Credit: 소란

 

Leave a Reply

