Sleep Well, Monday – Sosim Boys

Hello helpless Monday!

As I write this post, I have not closed my eyes *and sleep* Since I woke up llast Sunday afternoon. No. It’s not a case of insomnia. It’s a case of a ㅁㅊㄴ like neighbour *who decided to turned his computer game’s bass up until over midnight*, a very wolf-in-lamb-skin kinda neighbkur who decided to bang everything he had in his room loudly until 3.30 am. The result? I have this pre-conditioned thingy and stress will make my heart rate went up + being a super light sleeper = can’t sleep. So, I reported this ㅁㅊㄴ *good luck bud, I tried talking and writing nice notes to you* but I’m still pretty upset that: (1) I have to take beta blockers, (2) For the reaction I developed, I was prescribed with sleeping pills, (3) I have not been getting any sleep and yet my eyes are wide open eve though I’m uber tired, (4) I have to miss work, (5) I would have to ruin my relationship with my neighbour.

I don’t want to take number (2) unless I really really really have to. So I will play 소심한 오빠들/The Timid Oppas/Sosim Boys’ song: 잘자라 윤아/Sleep Well, Yoona. For once *and for an extremely good cause* I will pretend I was Yoona and I WILL NOT BE DEFEATED BY MY IGNORANT NEIGHBOUR! 

Lyrics + Translation

잘자라 윤아 – 소심한 오빠들

Sleep Well, Yoona – Sosim Boys


잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

우리 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in our dreams


잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

예쁜 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in a beautiful dream

너의 어지럽던 기쁜 하루 끝에 / at the joyous end of your giddy day

나쁜 기억들은 없는지 / should there be any bad memories

무거운 생각에 / at a heavy thought

잠 못 이루진 않는지 / should it make you unable to sleep

잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

우리 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in our dreams

잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

예쁜 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in a beautiful dream

고요히 / serenely

너무 착해 빠진 그녀 마음땜에

다른 상처들은 없는지 / there should there be any other scar

차가운 달빛에 밤 새워 뒤척이는지 / would she be tossing and turning at the cold moonlight all night long

잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

우리 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in our dreams

잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

예쁜 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in a beautiful dream

고요히 / serenely

여린 어깨 들썩이는 늦은 밤 너의 외로움 / the late night shuddering delicate shoulder of your loneliness

이젠 토닥여주지 못해도 / even though I can no longer be patting it

예쁜 별 하늘 그 아래서 / that beautiful star beneath the sky

하아/ sigh

잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

우리 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in our dreams

잘자라 윤아 / sleep well, Yoona

잘자라 윤아야 / sleep well, Yoona-ya

예쁜 꿈속에서 다시 만나 / we’ll meet again in a beautiful dream

고요히 / serenely


I can sleep well now. I just need to keep my eyes to stay open for another couple of hours.

But cheers to another poetic song! *I’m lovin’ it*. This song is filled with curiosity and letting go with both oh-well (acceptance) and oh-no (regrets).  According to the world wide web, this song was dedicated to a girl when one of the timid oppa thought of a girl he broke up with.

 

Credit: Sosim Boys
 
Even though The Timid Oppas is one of the internationally-less popular Korean Indie duo, this band is surely pretty happening in the Indie scene. I like a number of their songs (and am following them on Facebook). So go ahead, look them up. This song was taken from their EP in September 2019 a 소심한 오빠들: 사랑한다고 말해. 
  
Good night, Monday! Sleep tight, don’t let the ruthless neighbour bites 😀

Leave a Reply

