Playful “sseudam sseudam” – 10 CM

Aloha, foggy Monday!

It’s a pretty silent-hill like morning, here in Vancouver. I thought I would bombard your ears and eyes with 십센치/10 cm’s song from their newest single (3.1): October’s Rain/Weather. But when I saw pops of colours from fall leaves/trees, I suddenly remember their playful song instead: 쓰담 쓰담/sseudam sseudam.

10 cm is one of the first Korean Indie band (or more like duo) that I know *and like*. Their popularity was blown up, thanks to the song: Americano. And since then, you could easily spotted this duo’s songs in streets of *basically any shopping districts in Seoul* or in Korean dramas.

Although they are now *arguably* the most popular used-to-be-or-still-is Korean Indie musician, they still maintain the same characters and style. And, talking about 권정열/Kwon Jeong-Yeol singing and unique voice!! Sir, teach me how to sing like that! J’adore!

88d9d-247536

Lyrics + Translation

쓰담 쓰담 – 십센치

Sseudam Sseudam (caress) – 10 CM

Note: sseudam sseudam, instead of “caress” as in the verb, is more like the sound when your hands caress something. Imagine when you are reading a manga/manhwa, there are words written to make a sound of an action, right? Yes, it’s like that!

알고 있지 오늘따라 / Of course I know, out of all days

그대가 왜 이러는지 / why you are like this today

얼굴은 빨개지고 / your face is blushing red

눈빛도 이상하고 집에 안가고 / The look in your eyes are also weird, and you don’t go outside of the house

가만있어 오늘 같은 밤을 / staying still, a night like this

내내 기다렸어 / has been waiting for it all throughout the time

투박한 내 두 손에 / in my two rough hands

온몸을 맡겨줘요 할게 있어요/ leave your whole body to it, I have something to do with it

쓰담쓰담쓰담쓰담 / caress, caress

쓰담쓰담쓰담다담 해볼까요 / caress, caressing da dum, shall I try it?

토닥토닥토닥토-닥 / pat, pat, patting, pat

토다닥디다리디독 해드릴까요 / patting, pat, di da ri di dok, would you like me to do it?

쓰잘데 없던 나의 손이 / the out of usefulness of my hands

이런 용도일 줄이야 / would have this kind of purpose

외로워 미칠 때마다 불러줘요/ whenever it gets crazily lonely, give me a call

맙소사 그대 (그대) / Oh my gosh, you (you)

나의 귓가에 (귓가에) / In my ears (my ears)

들리는 목소리 난 다 알았어요 / I recognized the voice that I hear

tv를 보든 (뭘 보든) / whether I’m watching TV (whatever I’m watching)

식사 중이든 (뭘 먹든) / whether during meal time (whatever I’m eating)

운전 중이든 언제라도 / whether I’m driving, whenever it is

쓰담쓰담쓰담쓰담 / caress, caress

쓰담쓰담쓰담다담 해볼까요 / caress, caressing da dum, shall we do it?

토닥토닥토닥토-닥 / pat, pat, patting, pat

토다닥디다리디독 해드릴까요 / patting, pat, di da ri di dok, would you like me to do it?

오갈 데 없던 나에게도 / even to me who is lacking of any significance

이런 날이 올 줄이야 / who knows that this day would come

외로워 미칠 때마다 / whenever it gets crazily lonely

밤이 외로워 미칠 때마다 / whenever the night gets crazily lonely

그대 두 볼이 빨개질 때마다 / whenever your two cheeks are turning red

불러줘요 / give me a call

A gloomy day could feel lighter with pops of colours; insignificant days could gain more meaning by finding its purpose. Nothing is crazy lonely-busy-tiring-depressing-useless-and-all-those-negative-stuffs. Change your perspective, be a bit on the playful side, and call 10 cm to tap in some fun into your ears.

2014111013232718086

Leave a Reply

