Jumping with Determination with Kim Dong-Ryul

Helloooo Monday!

I’m giving you my most excited greeting as my 엄마 is on her flight to come and see me!

I want to share the excitement with a genre that I called K-Oldie (read: Korean old*er* song), called JUMP by 김동률 /Kim Dong-Ryul. It is really hard to find this song anywhere in the virtual world. But I really love this song *it’s one of my favourite K-oldie songs, although it wouldn’t surpass Sunset Glow*

(link – can’t find a video with original Kim Dong Ryul’s voice without animation from a video game yet 😦 ) 

this is the best I could find. If you’re not for games *like myself* just treat your ears while you scroll down to read the rest of this post.

Kim Dong-Ryul is a very talented composer/arranger/lyricist/producer/singer/performer. He is a well respected figure in the Korean music industry. The specific album the song is in:  Vol. 5 – Monologue (2008), is considered to be his adapting-to-the-mainstream kind of album that showcase what they call a different appeal *or style* of what he would normally brew.

images

I’m not sure what it meant, tho, because I only know 1 of his song. So, with no other songs to compare too,  I think it’s pretty dang awesome. It starts right away with Rock-and-Roll upbeat melodies and witty lyrics that make you want to walk faster and stand taller.

Lyrics + Translation

JUMP – 김동률 (Kim Dong-Ryul)

요즘 하루하루 살면서 / Lately, living day by day

그다지 재밌는 게 없어 / there’s completely nothing exciting

노는 것도 싫고 술도 시큰둥 / Don’t feel like playing, not enthusiastic for drinks

연애도 살짝 귀찮아 / dating is also a bit annoying

책 한권이 벌써 몇 달 째 / This book has been around for a few months already

책장이 넘어가질 않고/ but it has not left the bookshelf yet

큰 맘 먹고 샀던 카메라 위엔 / The camera that I bought after I mustered up some determination

뿌연 먼지만 가득해 / is just covered with thick dust

해야 하는 일은 많지만 / There are so many things to do, but

쉽사리 손에 잘 안 잡혀 / I couldn’t easily grasp them in my hand

하고 싶은 일이 많았었는데 / I had so many things that I would want to do, but

웬일인지 다 시시해 / for some reason it’s all nonsense

아직 모든 게 신기한 / Everything is still amazing

내 스무 살 때처럼 / Like when I was in my 20s

새로운 내일에 설레하며 / while I’m excited for a new tomorrow

가슴이 뛰고 싶어 / My heart wants to jump

이제는 나를 깨우고 싶어 / Now it’s the time to wake me up

또 다른 나를 찾고 싶어 / I want to find the other side of me

어디서부터 무엇부턴진 몰라도 / Even if I don’t know where to start or what to start with

한번 달려가 볼까 / shall I try to dash for once?

덜컥 저지르는 용기와 / holding the sudden committed courage

두둑한 배짱을 갖고서 / and a plentiful of boldness

열정에 가득 차 나를 불사를 / a vehicle filled with passion that sets me on fire

그 무언가가 필요해/ That is something that I need

영화에서처럼 / As in movies

짜릿한 반전은 기대하지 않아 / I do not expect thrilling reversal of ending

그저 내 마음이 이끄는 대로 / just my heart is guided through

한번쯤 가고 싶을 뿐 / I just want to go for at least once in a lifetime

땀에 흠뻑 젖은 채로 / While drenched in sweat

쓰러질 듯 숨차도 / even gasping as if I’m going to collapse

뭔가 해냈다는 뿌듯함에 / At the great feeling of pride for somewhat accomplishing something

한바탕 웃고 싶어 / I want gush with laughter

이제는 나를 깨우고 싶어 / Now it’s the time to wake me up

또 다른 나를 찾고 싶어 / I want to find the other side of me

어디서부터 무엇부턴진 몰라도 / Even if I don’t know where to start or what to start with

지금부터라도 더는 늦기 전에/ Even if it is now before it’s too late anymore

나를 깨우고 싶어 / I want to wake “me” up

또 다른 나를 찾고 싶어 / I want to find a different me

어디서부터 무엇부턴진 몰라도 / Even if I don’t know where to start or what to start with

한번 달려가 볼까 / shall I try to dash for once?

나를 깨우고 싶어 / I want to wake “me” up

또 다른 나를 찾고 싶어 / I want to find a different me

어디서부터 무엇부턴진 몰라도 / Even if I don’t know where to start or what to start with

지금부터라도 더는 늦기 전에/ Even if it is now before it’s too late anymore

나를 깨우고 싶어 / I want to wake “me” up

또 다른 나를 찾고 싶어 / I want to find a different me

어디서부터 무엇부턴진 몰라도 / Even if I don’t know where to start or what to start with

한번 달려가 볼까 / shall I try to dash for once?

If my music player could count how many times this song has been played on my playlist, I bet the number would be super up there *then again I only share my top songs in this blog :p*. This is the kind of song that I listen to when I need affirmation, or confirmation,  in trusting myself.

“As you grow older, you’ll find the only things you regret are the things you didn’t do” – Zachary song

So before it becomes it’s super too-late-now-you-can’t-even-do-anything-about-it-any-longer, shall we jump start or lives/dreams/talents/thing-I’ve-been-wanting-to-do one more time and dash for/towards it?

Thank you Kim Dong-Ryul for sharing such a cool song with a electrifying and contagious energy! This song surely makes waking up from a boring status quo, and sweating to find another side of oneself, an exciting thing to do.

kim-dong-ryul

Bonus:

Since no original video could be found the the whole world wide web, let me present you the song, as covered by one of my fave K-Indie duet: J-Rabbit *both your eyes and ears would thank me 🙂 *

Leave a Reply

