Korean style Indonesian Soto with Italian Feel

Yes, you read it right. It’s Korean style Indonesian Soto with Italian feel. Globalization in a bowl *aah Marshall Mcluhan*.

What’s hot in South Korea right now? It’s cooking variety shows/program. It even beats other variety program and new concepts sprung out almost “everyday”. One of them is 냉장고를 부탁해/Take Care of The Fridge or Please Take Care of My Fridge, a show with stars acting as chefs *of course* competing each other to make a delish and simple meal out of the ingredients found in another star’s fridge.

I have not watched any of the episode yet. But my sunbae told me the last episode she watched 김풍/Kim Pung made Indonesian Soto as his food item. And it won the competition. And everyone went a tad cray about it *to put it simply, the recipe was a big hit*. As a proud *ehem* Indonesian, I wanted to know what was it all about so I asked for the link of the recipe. At first, my sunbae told me, it was “Indonesian curry soup” called soto. And, of course I responded saying pfftt “soto” is not curry. 

I was hesitant to try this recipe because, as any other Indonesian, I grew up eating various kinds of soto and I was afraid that my taste buds, and expectations of how a bowl of soto should taste like, will curse this recipe miserably. But I’m too curious to not try. Plus I have a box of unused curry sitting somewhere in my kitchen and the recipe looks pretty simple, so I might just as well try its luck. For those of you who wants to try as well, here’s the translation/recipe I found from this link:

http://blog.naver.com/PostView.nhn?blogId=virua&logNo=220488417381

What you need:

meat (they used pork – as to chicken) // farfalle pasta (the Italian “feel” from Ha Seok-Jin’s fridge – which I opted out) // blocked curry sauce // lime juice // green onion // onion // salt // cooking oil // diced garlic //  diced ginger

How to:

– Sprinkle salt in a pot of boiling water and put in one portion of farfalle *bow tie* pasta

– Blend together: onion cut in halves, green onion, half spoon of salt, one spoon of diced garlic, ½ spoon of diced ginger, cooking oil

– Put into the blended ingredients, 1-2 ½ blocks of curry sauce – blend well

– Stir fry the meat you are using

– Pour the blended ingredients over the meat and stir fry for a couple minutes

– Meanwhile, roast one stalk of green onion (remove the green part)

– Put in the boiled farfella to the soup

– Add some more salt, if necessary

– Add some lime juice and the roasted green onion

They said it’s Kim Pung’s recipe that calls for some soju.

Well I tried.

FB_IMG_1442973310536

I think mine was less-soupy and a tad “creamier” then how it supposed to be. When I tried it, I kept on saying “what kind of taste is this”. After sometimes, I could taste, or rather smell, a faint hint of Soto. Although the taste is so confusing, at least for me, I applaud the creativity and technique for Kim Pung! Well, it might not taste anywhere near soto, but it got the basic idea. I kinda get it why Koreans, who never tried Soto before, might like it. It has a “deep” taste that you often find in their soups/dishes. But I like the original one better *well, duh, of course!*. I still have some left at home, and I’ll see if I can turn it to something *more* edible that will make my taste buds happy(-er).

I encourage you, Indonesian or not – have tried Soto before or not, to try this recipe and taste it yourself! It’s super duper easy!

Leave a Reply

