Healing Mode – Starry Night

Oh Monday!

This morning I woke up with a funny feeling that I did not (and still do not) know what it is. I keep on asking “뭐지?/what is it exactly?”. It’s like half butterflies in your tummy and half squishing-sponge-churning-like feeling in your chest. 

Then on my break I went on to listen this song.

And felt (and still feels) like crying.

Without knowing why/what the reason is.

Weird.

I love Standing Egg. I think they’re the only K-indie band that I consistently follow *named as all time favourite*. Each new album usually has one song (or all) that made it to my playlist (on repeat, of course). My best impression of this song came when I was walking home on a quiet street, with trees spread out along the way, both on the left and right sides. I was observing/staring at them and at the houses as I passed through it. But it was as if I was standing still and the branches/trees/houses were moving pass by me. I love this kind of experience/feeling/sensation/you name it. Especially when you are on a drive/walk. It’s just beautiful *ah, simple happiness*.

For some reason this song’s soothing lullaby like melodies, and the comforting and soft voice of the vocalist, sprinkle healing properties to the restless hearts.

Lyrics + Translation

Starry Night – StandingEGG

한 번도 본 적 없는 별하늘 가득한 밤 / A night filled with stars I have never seen before

한참을 바라보네 아무런 말없이 / I stared at it for a long time without any words

별 하나 떨어지면 기도를 하기로 해/ If there’s a falling star, say a prayer

서로를 꼭 안고서 기다리기로 해 / Tightly in each other arms, to wait

너는 내 꿈속으로 나는 네 꿈속으로/ You are in my dream, I am in your dream

오늘 밤 같은 꿈에 서있어 /  We are standing in the same dream tonight

Here we are close to star

이대로 그대와 영원히 머물고 싶은 걸 / I want to stay like this forever with you

Here we are close to star

끝없이 가득한  별하늘 그리고 너와 나 / The endless starry night and also you and I

너는 내 꿈속으로 나는 네 꿈속으로 / You are in my dream, I am in your dream

오늘 밤 같은 꿈에 서있어 / We are standing in the same dream tonight

Here we are close to star

이대로 그대와 영원히 머물고 싶은 걸 / I want to stay like this forever with you

Here we are close to star

끝없이 가득한 별하늘 그리고 너와 나 / The endless starry night and also you and I

별 쏟아지는 밤하늘 끝에다 / By the end of the night sky, pouring with stars

넌 어떤 바램들을 새 / What kind of wishes are you making? Starry night

I remember I used to hate someone who often chose to sleep to “solve” his/her problem. I still think that it is not right, but, I could understand a part of it now. If you feel like crying but you can’t cry, sleeping might work better. In fact, I feel sleepy easily when I’m stressed out.

But that’s not my point. What I’m trying to say was that once you were hurt/disappointed, or whenever you are feeling low/sad/broken, putting up a strong front is being brave. And it is not an easy task. If you could fake it till you make it that’s admirable. And yes, you need to do it. But remember to take the time to heal those cracks in your heart, otherwise, when the memories/feelings are coming back to you, it will hurt you more and you’ll feel lonely. So just do what you got to do. Whether it’s crying/sleeping/listening to good songs/having a walk/doing art therapy. . . anything! *even talking to a friend whose voice is as soothing and calming as the mysterious Egg’s vocalist*. Being vulnerable does not mean that you’re weak. But instead, it means that your respecting your self to allow your emotions to mingle for you so you could be healed, be stronger, and for you to grow.

maxresdefault
Credit: StandingEGG

Dang it! I want to go on a drive and be emo have a healing session with this song now/later on after work.
So anyhow, may you find your starry night to confide to and to find comfort from. And tell me, when you are having one of those days when you feel you hit your low points, what are your go to *healing-mode* songs?

Leave a Reply

