Wee-ing Monday Blues with Hyukoh

Monday!

Choose between the two: “Yay” or “Oh Bummer”

My current Monday’s mood? Stormy weekend and Monday lead me to put Hyukoh’s 위잉위잉 a.k.a wiing wiing *I would rather call it wee-ing tho, like “wee” when you go on a swing* on infinite reply. It’s just one of those days that you need one song. And only one song. And here goes that song:

Hyukoh might be an amazing K-indie band who has taken over Hongdae and the rest of the nation (and a number of international fans). But they definitely caught a huge falling star, thanks to IU’s instagram post and Infinity Challenge *If you don’t know the latter two, you are officially living under a rock*. If you know me personally, or have been following my old twitter feed, or for some weird reason had listen to my old-skool radio days; you would know that I would prefer Korean indie songs and artists than the K-POP counterparts. But since I was in a hibernation mode for too long, I only knew this band from Infinity Challenge. I got to admit, they’re unique. I can’t decide if they’re uniquely good or if they’re really good that it’s unique. One thing for sure, their music is not your standard easy listening vibe that you often hear at a coffee shop.

Poetic lyrics + lay back tunes but with energetic vibes = as I often say: “Monday, you’re kinda forgiven”. Or perhaps, “Monday, I just want to laze around the house”. One of the other, sorry I’m too shabby to decide.

Lyrics + Translations (Eng):

위잉 위잉 – 혁오 

Wiing wiing – Hyukoh

비틀비틀 걸어가는 나의 다리 /Stumbling are my walking feet

오늘도 의미없는 또 하루가 흘러가죠 /Today is another meaningless day passing by

사랑도 끼리끼리 하는거라 믿는 나는 / For me who believe that love is  between each other

좀처럼 두근두근 거릴일이 전혀없죠 /There would rarely be anything that will make my heart flutter


위잉위잉 하루살이도 / Wiing wiing goes the mayfly

처량한 나를 비웃듯이 멀리 날아가죠 / Flying far away as if it’s laughing at my miserable self

비잉비잉 돌아가는 / Biing biing the revolving world

세상도 나를 비웃듯이 계속 꿈틀대죠 / It keeps on squirming as if it is laughing at me


Tell me Tell me, Please don’t tell 

차라리 듣지 못한 편이 내겐 좋을거야 / It would rather be better for me to be on the side that cannot hear anything

Tell me Tell me, Please don’t tell

차라리 보지 못한 편이 내겐 좋을거야 / It would rather be better for me to be on the side that cannot see anything

ai ai ai ai ai

사람들 북적대는 출근길의 지하철엔 / The subway train with bustling people on their way to work

좀처럼 카드찍고 타볼일이 전혀없죠 / There would rarely be a reason for me to tap my card and ride it

집에서 뒹굴뒹굴 할 일없어 빈둥대는 / Rolling around the house doing nothing

내 모습 너무 초라해서 정말 죄송하죠 / My appearance is so shabby, I’m really sorry about that


위잉위잉 하루살이도 / Wiing wiing goes the mayfly

처량한 나를 비웃듯이 멀리 날아가죠 / Flying far away as if it’s laughing at my miserable self

비잉비잉 돌아가는 / Biing biing the revolving world

세상도 나를 비웃듯이 계속 꿈틀대죠 / It keeps on squirming as if it is laughing at me

쌔앵 쌔앵 칼바람도 / Even the chilly strong wind

상처난 내 마음을 어쩌지는 못할거야 / Cannot do anything about my scarred heart

뚜욱 뚜욱 떨어지는 / Drip, drip, the falling tears

눈물이 언젠가는 이세상을 덮을거야 / Will going to cover this world someday


Tell me Tell me, Please don’t tell

차라리 듣지 못한 편이 내겐 좋을거야 / It would rather be better for me to be on the side that cannot hear anything

Tell me Tell me, Please don’t tell

차라리 보지 못한 편이 내겐 좋을거야 / It would rather be better for me to be on the side that cannot see anything

Tell me Tell me, Please don’t tell

차라리 느껴보지 못한 편이 내겐 좋을거야 / It would rather be better for me to be on the side that cannot feel anything

Tell me Tell me, Please don’t tell

차라리 살아보지 못한 편이 내겐 좋을거야 / It would rather be better for me to be on the side that won’t live to see anything


비틀비틀 걸어가는 나의 다리 / Stumbling are my walking feet

오늘도 의미없는 또 하루가 흘러가죠 / Today is another meaningless day passing by

사랑도 끼리끼리 하는거라 믿는 나는 / For me who believe that love is  between each other

좀처럼 두근두근 거릴일이 전혀없죠 / There would rarely be anything that will make my heart flutter


위잉위잉 하루살이도 / Wiing wiing goes the mayfly

처량한 나를 비웃듯이 멀리 날아가죠 / Flying far away as if it’s laughing at my miserable self

비잉비잉 돌아가는 / Biing biing the revolving world

세상도 나를 비웃듯이 계속 꿈틀대죠 / It keeps on squirming as if it is laughing at me

I thought that the lyrics would mean much more when I was in my (f)unemployed days. But maybe whatever you do, there will be one of those days that just flows by meaninglessly. I do hope your Monday is going strong so far. Half of it is almost over! Man you’re getting closer to Friday :D. Now tell me, what’s your jam today to survive Monday?

COVER
Credit to: Hyukoh and HIGHGRND
Leave a Reply

