A little less romance, a little more thriller – Hello Monster

Happy Friday!

K-drama fans, have you watched “너를 기억해” a.k.a “I Remember You” or “Hello Monster”? I hope I would not give you any sort of spoilers to those who are still burning their night oils to catch up on it (instead of sleeping or studying).

Hello_Monster-cp
Hello Monster – Credit: KBS 2

Well, not so much of the plot, but the fact that I realized how enjoyable it was watching this drama. The thing is, I’m not usually into thriller. I often thought that I’m more into hopeless romantic drama styles compared to nerve-wrecking or adrenaline-pumping stories. I also had the so-called “second lead syndrome”; all of which did show a single sign of existence when I was following this drama.

Now it got me thinking. Am I getting old?

No, like seriously.

I as I *ehem* gets older, I prefer less of romance and more of thriller. Is it, perhaps, because as you become older, you get to experience more of the reality of life and slowly figure that those hopeless-romantic-prince-on-a-white-horse dramas is in – fact – just unreachable fantasies?

Maybe it’s time to go back to those dramas I skipped years ago and perhaps I could now enjoy it and understand it better. For example, why the male leading role always act like a je** bad guy and all of those heart reaping-reality-forced decisions that come with it.

Other than those getting older factors, I’m so intrigued with the Native American story of the two wolves (늑대이야기) that goes along like this:

a_(6)
Credit: KBS 2

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

This particular piece of pie from the drama still lingers in my train of thoughts. That story in Lee Hyun’s Min’s childhood that brought up a question beyond “Are you born a monster”.  But how human circumstances play an even bigger role in deciding darkness or light. Maybe every Min in us could choose to be Cha Ji-An instead. Or maybe we need to find our own Lee Hyuns to have that balance. But the most important thing, in my opinion, is that no one has only one side. There are, and will always be, two faces/sides/versions of ourselves that will only outshine the other if we let them to. I love the ending of it. Unlike most fairytale like happy ending, it displayed two scared souls promising to catch the very shadow of their lifes. Well, isn’t it neat? That it takes 2 broken souls, not perfect ones, to create a happy ending.

Well now, what’s your Korean drama style? Do you like more fantasy like stories or thriller to ignite those adrenaline in you?

One thought on “A little less romance, a little more thriller – Hello Monster

  1. Chendani

    getting older might be another factor, but maybe because we have watched so many ‘romance-type’ korean drama; thus, to get a fresh new idea will be preferred. Me. I like MISAENG!!!!! hahahaha diehard fan! NO ROMANCe drama, well you can sense some around, but that’s not the main point. I love every details about it. If I can read Korean, I would love to buy the manga. LOL oh Med… I really pray about next spring hahahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

