Tealips instead of Black Bean Noodles

It’s the end of ‘Black Day’ where K-culture let single ladies and gents mourn their “single-ness” by binge eating on Korean black bean noodles: 짜장면/jjajangmyeon today.  While I have forgotten about it completely, I made an excuse to post this and create my own black day celebration. Today I “celebrate” it by going to the most-Korean-like cafe in Burnaby. It’s called Tealips. The hidden gem is located right behind Highgate mall in Edmonds. I first came to this place last Fall and I fell in love to the Korean-ness of this place.

2014-04-14 20.32.23
Tealips

It sells a variety of food and drink items, from lunch sandwiches to Caramel Macchiato.

2014-04-14 20.32.54
Drink Menu
2014-04-14 20.32.47
Waffles – Bingsoo – Sandwiches

The many times I went there, I have always sticked to the waffles and drinks. Tonight, I got Ice Caramel Macchiato, which I think tastes the same with the one I had in Seoul. The first time I had it that familiar tingled on my taste buds sold me right away. Yes! It’s Korean style!!! Super yum!

2014-04-14 20.58.41
Caramel Macchiato

I also had their mixed berries waffle with liege waffles. Here, you can choose one of the 2 types of  Belgian waffles they have. Before tonight’s visit I always had the brussels, but because I felt a bit adventurous, I went for the liege which I regretted a little bit. It wasn’t because it tasted horrible. But the liege type isn’t my cup of tea. The texture is soft and chewy (which I appreciate better than the other type), however, it’s too sweet to my taste and it felt like there were grains of sugar in the waffle dough (which I would prefer not to have).

2014-04-14 20.37.02
Mixed Berries Liege Waffle

My friend had the Green tea bingsoo/shaved ice. I wouldn’t say it’s the best because they did not put bean powder (LOVE this in my bingsoo) and put a lot of bananas, but I gotta say it’s Korean style.

2014-04-14 20.37.15
Green Tea Bingsoo

Then, I had to teach my friend how to eat bingsoo properly: mix and crush everything including the ice cream (which partially rejected for the ice cream part). Good time!

2014-04-14 20.41.30
How to eat you bingsoo!

One more striking Korean-ness is this:

2014-04-14 20.33.16
Buzzer

I won’t argue which country invented/had it first, but to me this is so Korean (and it was printed on the buzzer that it was made in Korean too). It is not the only place in Greater Vancouver that sells Korean style waffles and shaved ice. The drink options are also simpler than other bubble tea places. But there are hints, style, items, and tastes of Korean-ness that never fail to bring me back to this place to hang out/dessert time/random visit time to time again whenever I miss going out where I could imagine myself being in Seoul instead of Vancouver (plus if it’s raining and filled with Korean chatters)

2014-04-14 20.37.22
Sweet Black Day!
Leave a Reply

