Family Outing

The Family is HERE! =)

Even though the series has ended. Family Outing is one of the few Korean reality shows that I still  watch religiously. I watch it when I couldn’t sleep; I watch it if I’m bored, etc.

In this post, I would like to introduce this program from my point of view. So whether you have watched it or not, have read another review or two, I hope my post will be somewhat informative if not entertaining.


Family Outing/패밀리가 떴다/패떴

It is a new concepted variety show that was aired on KBS, one of the 3 big broadcasting company in South Korea. It aired for a total 2 seasons, 85 episodes on the first season and I’m not sure the total episodes in season 2.

The Concept

A group of talents/entertainers, consisting of comedian, singer, model, member of idol group and actor/actress, are grouped and sent to a rural area in South Korea. The idea is for the entertainers to put off their star like life and put on the villagers character and act as a family.

They were sent to a grandma/grandpa house of the village. While the house owners left for a vacation, they are asked to watch over the house while also doing tasks that the villagers in that area normally do.

Almost every episode, they would have a guest who is also an entertainer. The core/main/standard plot of this show is that they would divide themselves into 2 groups, play games, make dinner, and play the breakfast game.  

The members (The characters listed are not a complete list of what the show had)

Season 1

Dumb/comedian/Nation MC: Yoo Jaesuk

Nation sister/Nation fairy/former member of finkl/solo singer: Lee Hyori

Sweet and Salvage/actress: Park Yejin

The gamedevil/Stepmom/Actor: Kim Sooro

Dumber/Nation Idol/Bigbang member: Kang Daesung

Trainer/solo singer: Kim Jongkook

Elderly/solo singer/song writer/composer: Yoon Jongshin

Cinderella/Actor/Model: Lee Chunhee

New members

Weakling brother/the Park siblings :Park Haejin

The Park siblings: Park Siyeon

Season 2

Kim Wonhee


Yoon Sanghyun


Ji Sangryul


Shin Bongsun


 Yoona


Taecyeon


Jo Kwon


Kim Heechul


Jang Dongmin


My verdict

It is a funny and entertaining show. Or else I won’t watch it over and over again. BUT why you ask?

You will find Cultural, Humanism and Entertainment aspects in one show.

It shows you the beauty of Korean villages while also promoting its local specialties.

It shows the human side of the entertainers, showing the audiences the real characters behind the spot light. As you watch more episodes, you will find that their time spent together was really making them a family.

I also like it because of the dinner they made! It makes me drool over my laptop and make me want to make exactly the same with what they were having. =P

The drawbacks:

Although it’s called reality TV program, I’m guessing it’s half scripted. The character is not really the true nature of the casts, but somehow drifted to the direction of how the PD wanted it to be in order to create the ‘entertaining’ aspect of the show. This also could be said the same to the situation/scene shown in each episode. Not all of them are spontaneous reaction. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing, instead I’ll say that it’s necessary. However, when those things become obvious, the level of connection and enjoyment of the characters/scenes/the program would drop by a bar.

The new members: Park Yejin and lee Chunhee had to withdraw from the program because of their personal schedule. After they left, the Park siblings replaced them in the show. Culturally speaking, Korean are not the type of people who can get friendly with new members as soon as they meet. This cultural characteristic was obviously shown and, in my opinion, had greatly affected the ambience of the show. The family bond, that were there for each and every members, were somewhat loosen.

The park siblings didn’t get much airtime. Was it because they were not entertaining enough? Not trying enough? The chemistry/characters were not well developed? I don’t know. But there was something missing from them. Oh and… The fact that Park Siyeon health hindered her from performing the best out of her is saddening.

Season 2: *sigh* I don’t know where to start. I’m not sure if it’s produced with the same PD or not, but I can confidently say that the season 2 lost the characteristics that the first season had developed. I get it if they were trying to make a change here and there. BUT! The vibe they sent, well at least this was what I felt about it, were off. It seem like they’re combining concepts from the other airing variety show/competitors and each episode feels like a trial of something not well developed enough to be aired. I gave up watching after 4 episodes or so, and apparently it stopped airing due to the low rating.

All in all.. I find that Family Outing is both educative/informative and entertaining! I still love it so much even though I have watched it more than.. ehemm.. 10 times? Hehehe..

Watch out for my next episode-to-episode review as I will include the name of the place, the specialty/famous thing about the place, the games, food, etc!

Until then

XOXO

pictures credit: from various websites
Leave a Reply

