my yukgaejang

Thanks to my care cell member.. I found this lady who made videos on hot to make Korean food.. Since it’s super cold here in Vancouver.. I just feel like it’d great if I can make something warm and yummy *for my self at least* and sooo.. I watched her video, bought the ingredients.. and finnaly made my own yukgaejang.

Apparently yukgaejang itself is “a variety of gomguk, or thick soup, which was formerly served in Korean royal court cuisine. It is believed to be healthful and is popular due to its hot and spicy nature” (wikipedia). I tink it IS super healthy since it’s all veggies and just some tiny bits of meat in it! =) And I also agree that it’s really good to be served in chilly days..

For The recipe *and other recipes* you can go to http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/yukgaejang

Now.. here comes ‘yukgaejang making pictorial‘ kkk–

The Ingredients
Dried Toran
All Ready!
I'm Soaking extra for bibimbap =)
My creation!! hahaha

(will post in a few minutes.. camera MIA..hahaha)

Now some notes I took while making yukgaejang

– You really have to boil the gosari and be patient! or else not only it will still have some sort of a strong smell. It will be hard that you can’t chew.

– I bought Toran *instead of celery* and I could only find the dried ones.. all you need to do is soak it in warm water for about 30 mins

– as you know all dried food will expand if soaked.. so soak only half of what you think you’ll need out of the dried ones.

Final Verdict: I like it. But it’s so complicated that I would rather go to a Korean restaurant and order it. One reason is because you have to soak the toran for at least one night before you make the yukgaejang. An another reason that you need time and patience since you have to be attentive and can not be forgetful of the simmering soup on the stove *knock on wood you’ll burn everything if you leave it away and forget about it*. By the way, Ap Gu Jung in downtown Vancouver and Wang Ga Ma in Lougheed have good yukgaejangs!

6 thoughts on “my yukgaejang

Leave a Reply

